“The idea behind MBMT is to show how design can represent a unifying factor between the different creative disciplines. So it’s really cool and such an honour that it’s become a true collaboration between so many diverse talents.”

Held in the VDMA building in Eindhoven’s city centre, the MBMT exhibition, in collaboration with the Dutch Design Foundation, consists of a collection of BAAS’ key works, a collaborative section of pieces by other creative talents centred around the theme of time, and a temporary restaurant, conveniently situated in a tent at the centre of the exhibition. BAAS is setting the table with his own china and silverware and the menu contains a selection of signature dishes by Sergio Herman. The temporary restaurant was made in collaboration with creative companies such as Cor Unum, Exposize, Vlisco en Serax.

MBMT also represents the world premiere of BAAS’ newest collection. Close Parity consists of a series of five cabinets that demonstrate that absurd mix of child-like simplicity and complex craftsmanship for which BAAS has become known. The five prototypes will be shared with the public for the first time here, after which the series will travel on down to the Groninger Museum, which will host a solo exhibition by BAAS early next year.

“What it is? It’s everything and nothing. An experiment, an experience…whatever you want to call it: 15 Years of MAARTEN BAAS, the preview to a book, the premiere of a new collection, a restaurant… I think it’s a soup more than anything else. A soup that symbolises this hotchpotch I’ve created here!”

MAARTEN BAAS MAKES TIME includes works by:
Anthon Beeke, Anton Corbijn, Atelier NL, Atelier van Asseldonk, Atelier van Lieshout, Cor Unum, Erwin Olaf, Geert Sweep, Gijs van Bon, Ingmar Heytze, Iris van Herpen, Jeroen Kooijmans, Jeroen Wolf, John Körmeling, Joris van Midde, Julien Carretero, Kiki van Eijk, Lambert Kamps, Lensvelt, Lisa Klappe, Mieke Meijer, Nel Verbeke (Dutch Invertuals), Nick Ramage (Laikingland), Niels Hoebers, Ontwerpbureau Nightshop, Piet Hein Eek, rENs, Richard Hutten, Rob Scholte, Sander Mulder, Sergio Herman, Studio Makkink & Bey, Tessa Koot, Tejo Remy, Teun Hocks, Theo Jansen, Vlisco, Ward Wijnant.

Source: Maarten Baas